Posts Tagged ‘Tiffany Leong’

By guest blogger Tiffany Leong

The year of 2001 not only marked the peak of Britney Spears’ career, but it also marked the construction of the tallest monumental peak in Vancouver— the Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre Hotel. Inspired by our fellow American Lung Association’s stair climbing events, the British Columbia Lung Association seized the opportunity to launch the first-ever stair climbing fundraiser in Vancouver, Stairclimb for Clean Air, at the newly-built Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre Hotel. This was no coincidence. Our CEO, Scott McDonald, and the Event Coordinator at that time, Ruby Campbell, conceived of this event in 1999 and set their sights on this building before construction was even completed. For its inaugural year, the results were astonishing— 200 participated and collectively raised over $105K!

A decade later, Britney Spears’ hot meter has dropped drastically and the Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre Hotel is now the second tallest building in Vancouver, but the event is still breaking records for the Lung Association. Last year, there was a record high of 604 registered Climbers following a record fundraising high of $195K in 2009. To honour our 10th annual Stairclimb for Clean Air, you can bet we are aiming for “skyscraper” high results again!

Just for fun, here’s a “Now & Then” comparison chart that will help you revisit 2001, but don’t hold me responsible for any good or bad memories!

NOW THEN (2001)
‘Hot’ Celebrities Robert Pattinson, Taylor Swift, Lady Gaga, Katy Perry Britney Spears, N’SYNC, Backstreet Boys, Christina Aguilera
Movies Inception, The Social Network Gladiator, Gone in Sixty Seconds, Charlie’s Angels
TV Shows Glee, Jersey Shore, Mad Men Friends, Who Wants to be a Millionaire, Survivor
Songs on the Radio “Airplanes”- BoB/Hayley Williams, “Teenage Dream”- Katy Perry, “Just the Way You Are”- Bruno Mars “Bye Bye Bye”- N Sync, “Back at One”- Brian McKnight, “Say My Name”- Destiny’s Child
Favourite Canucks Daniel Sedin, Henrik Sedin, Ryan Kesler, Roberto Luongo Markus Nasland, Andrew Cassels, Todd Bertuzzi, Brendan Morrison